Family Mediation Can Help Coloradans Resolve Caregiving Conflicts

…The Times article went on to discuss several aspects of family mediation, pointing out that trained mediators can help families struggling with a variety of elder-care issues. These can include appropriate living arrangements, care responsibilities, communication and information sharing, and health and financial decisions. Among key points made were the following:

When Coloradans Face Medical Debt . . . and Debt Collectors

In a collaborative investigation that included KFF Health News, The Colorado Sun, 9News, and others, the UCHealth (UCH) system has come under criticism for the volume of overdue patient billings that it turns over to collection agencies. A specific criticism is that this process typically keeps UCHealth’s name off collections documents and related legal paperwork, which critics say lacks appropriate transparency.

Coloradans Should Be Alert to “Freezing” and Other Signs of a Ministroke

Medical experts say moments like the one Mitch McConnell experienced are not something to be brushed off as insignificant, even though such episodes can be very short-lived and the person seems back to normal fairly quickly. These freezes are referred to as events of altered mental status. They are neurological phenomena that in most cases call for a mental status exam. Some experts questioned why McConnell wasn’t taken to a hospital for evaluation to assess his overall cognitive and behavioral state.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel