Coloradans Should Protect a Loved One’s Credit after Death

The consumer financial information source Bankrate.com alerts those who oversee a loved one’s money matters that it is important to protect that person’s credit following their death in order to minimize identity theft and fraud. Criminals are known to monitor obituaries and other death notices and then pounce on capturing personal details, including Social Security numbers, that allow them to open fraudulent accounts and engage in criminal activity under the deceased’s name. This can cause problems for living relatives. Bankrate advises promptly taking these steps following the death of a loved one: 1) Request a credit freeze on the deceased’s account at the three credit bureaus — Transunion, Experian, and Equifax; 2) Notify the credit bureaus in writing about the family member’s death; 3) Allow processing time (a few days or up to two weeks) and confirm with the bureaus that the account is indeed frozen and flagged “deceased”; 4) Request a copy of the deceased’s credit report to review for any questionable activity, to confirm it is flagged as “deceased,” and to help assess your loved one’s financial standing. You will need to provide the credit bureaus with the deceased’s Social Security number, date of birth and death, and a copy of a death certificate. If you are not a spouse, you may need to provide a copy of a will, executor agreement, or power of attorney.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel