Colorado Help for Grandparents Raising Grandchildren

AgeWise Colorado provider AARP reports that U.S. Census data shows just over 7 million American grandparents living with their grandchildren under age 18, and 2.3 million of these grandparents are responsible for the kids. It’s a nationwide phenomenon, and there is help in Colorado for such grandparents. It can be found at Colorado State University’s Grandparents Raising Grandchildren program (https://grg.colostate.edu/.) As GRG says, “this website was created with the goal of providing useful resources and reliable, current information for grandparents that have taken on the role as primary caregiver for their grandchildren.” GRG goes on to note that Colorado grandparents raising grandchildren have expressed a desire for online resources to help them overcome barriers, answer questions, and enhance their relationship with their grandchildren. GRG offers what it calls HELP, which stands for “Health, Education, Legal, and Parenting concerns.” The website covers these areas and includes real-life stories from grandparents, information on community support groups, and an option to ask questions of an expert in the field. In addition to the website, interested persons can call 970-491-1118 or email christine.fruhauf@colostate.edu.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel