Colorado is Among Many States Dropping Enhanced SNAP Benefits

March 1, 2023 marked the end of “Emergency Allotments” for the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), commonly referred to as food stamps. The extra SNAP funds began about three years ago as a way to help families experiencing hunger during the pandemic. The termination of these extra allotments means most recipients will see a $90 per person drop in monthly benefit, or a $360 per month drop for a family of four. Nate Springer, CEO of Care and Share Food Bank for Southern Colorado, said “we knew it was going to happen, but the timing is difficult. The typical U.S. household is spending more each month to buy the same items it did a year ago. Now, these cuts make buying essentials that much harder.” Care and Share is a primary provider of foods to nearly 300 distributors in 31 of Colorado’s 64 counties. A resident of an apartment complex for low-income and disabled seniors in Colorado Springs who had been receiving the enhanced SNAP benefits said she’ll try to make ends meet but “it’s going to be a struggle.” Seventeen states had already cut payments earlier this year, and March is the first month that all SNAP benefits—including Colorado’s—will revert back to typical amounts nationwide. SNAP eligibility is determined by a number of factors. You can check details on SNAP and a number of other food assistance programs in Colorado on this website by clicking the ‘Practical Advice’ tab, submenu item ‘Food Access’ and read the article titled ‘Food Assistance for Older Coloradans

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel