Colorado Legislation Seeks to Assist Housing Relocation for Older Renters

The Colorado state House has given initial approval to a bill (SB 23-1171) that would prohibit landlords from evicting or declining to renew leases without having a “just cause,” such as nonpayment of rent, violating lease agreements, committing illegal activity, and other conditions. Landlords could still evict for the reason of renovating or demolishing the property, but in such cases would have to pay the tenant two months’ worth of rent to help in relocating to new housing, with this financial assistance raised to three months’ worth of rent if the tenant is low-income, has a disability, or is age 60 or older. Smaller landlords (with rental income of less than $6,500 per month) and mobile homes are exempt from the requirements. The bill is controversial, with opponents saying it over-burdens landlords financially, makes them keep obnoxious or unsavory tenants, and will drive some landlords out of the rental business. Supporters say it would stop evictions made for reasons such as tenants making justified complaints, for covert discriminatory motives, or similar unfair treatment. The bill heads to the Senate next, where a vigorous debate is expected.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel