Feds and Colorado AG Join in Fight Against Scam Calls

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has announced a new initiative called “Operation Stop Scam Calls.” As part of the effort, the FTC is teaming up with more than 100 agencies and attorneys general nationwide. The Colorado Attorney General’s Office is among them. AG Phil Weiser said Operation Stop Scam Calls is designed to “crack down on the scourge of illegal robocalls” and the combined forces in the operation “are committed to holding accountable bad actors that bombard Americans with billions of robocalls to scam consumers out of their money and private data.” The initiative will go after not only the telemarketers themselves but also the lead generators who deceptively collect and provide consumers’ telephone numbers. In one recent year, scam callers ripped off over $1 billion nationally from victims age 65+, with an average loss of just over $9,000 (some victims lost 10 times that amount). The FTC claims to have handled hundreds of cases against illegal robocallers, assessing cumulative penalties of more than $2 billion and returning almost $400 million to affected consumers. Operation Stop Scam Calls hopes to eliminate more scams before they happen. You can learn more about avoiding scam calls and also sign up for the Do Not Call Registry at https://consumer.ftc.gov/features/how-stop-unwanted-calls.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel