Fraud Continues to Snare Colorado Older Adults

AARP reports that online crime targeting Colorado seniors continues to rise. In 2021, AARP says, victims in Colorado lost more than $130 million to cybercriminals, as based on FBI records. That’s roughly double what the loss figure was in 2019. AARP says Colorado “consistently ranks among the top 10 states” for fraud reports related to online shopping and negative reviews of businesses with suspicious to clearly deceptive practices. AARP ElderWatch Colorado, an AgeWise Colorado Provider, also specifically points to scammers posing as well-known retailers such as Amazon to bilk consumers out of their money. ElderWatch says it receives 200 to 300 fraud-reporting calls a month from Coloradans. To report fraud, visit www.stopfraudcolorado.gov or call AARP-800-222-4444.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel