Home (Harmonizing Occupancy Measures Equitably) Act Offers Housing Flexibility

Older Coloradans and their caregivers who may need more flexibility in housing occupancy can look to a bill passed in the General Assembly that goes into effect in July 2024. The Home (Harmonizing Occupancy Measures Equitably) Act, SB 24-1007, states that a local government cannot limit the number of people “who may live together in a single dwelling based on familial relationship.” Local governments can limit residential occupancy limits based only on “demonstrated health and safety standards,” such as building code standards, fire code regulations, or Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment wastewater and water quality standards. Some limits may still be permitted based on local, state, federal or political subdivision affordable housing program guidelines.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel