Lowe’s and AARP partner to support aging in place.

Home materials and improvement chain Lowe’s and AARP (an AgeWise Colorado Provider) have continued their partnership begun in late 2021 in a program titled Livable Home, designed to offer products, services and do-it-yourself expertise to help seniors in Colorado and elsewhere stay in their homes. The program reportedly includes specially trained Lowe’s staff, who may be wearing AARP-branded badges, who are available to help customers with information on such things as installing bathroom grab bars, walk-in bathtubs, non-slip flooring, wheelchair ramps, kitchen design, lighting, and other home adaptations. AARP says the collaboration offers information and guidance around home improvements to support older adults and family caregivers as they reimagine their homes for the next stage of life. AARP cites survey statistics showing that 75% of people 50 and older want to remain in their current homes as they age, but the majority of homes do not have the features needed to support that option. In addition, AARP says it will provide Lowe’s associates with training to better understand the needs of consumers age 50 and above when it comes to home fixes, upgrades and renovations and will also develop a “livable home” resource guide for distribution in stores.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel