Medication Takeback information available on myColorado app

The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) announced in January 2024 that Coloradans can now access information about the Medication Takeback program on myColorado, an app CDPHE says makes it easier for people to engage with state government and its services. “The Medication Takeback program aims to help Coloradans properly dispose of unused medication to protect their loved ones and the environment,” CDPHE says. “Proper disposal of medications prevents the potential for accidents and misuse.” The Department also notes that medications flushed down the toilet or thrown in the trash can contaminate water systems and threaten wildlife. The hope is that by having access to the Takeback program on myColorado, it will raise awareness and encourage more people to dispose of unused medication properly. CDPHE says Coloradans can responsibly dispose of almost all expired or unneeded prescription or over-the-counter medication in a Medication Takeback Dropbox at more than 300 locations across the state. Disposables include opioids and other controlled substances, prescription patches, prescription creams and ointments, and unused medical inhalers (if empty). The myColorado app is available at the Apple App Store or on Google Play. See more information about the Medication Takeback program at the Medication Takeback Program website.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel