National Coalition Supports Family Caregivers

“We envision a society that values, supports, and empowers family caregivers to thrive at home, work, and life.” That’s the vision of the National Alliance for Caregiving (NAC), a non-profit coalition of national organizations that exists to make life better for family caregivers. It was founded in 1996 with the participation of the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging, the American Society on Aging, the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs – Office of Geriatrics and Extended Care, Glaxo Wellcome, and the National Council on Aging. NAC is also a founding member of the International Alliance of Carer Organizations (IACO). NAC conducts research, does policy analysis, develops national best-practice programs, and works to increase public awareness of family caregiving issues. It supports a network of more than 80 state and local caregiving coalitions through its advocacy and research collaboratives.
NAC has created research on the economic impact of caregiving, the business case for supporting family responsibilities in the workplace, children as caregivers, and new disease-specific work in multiple sclerosis, diabetes, mental health, rare disease, cancer, and Alzheimer’s disease. The Alliance has participated in multiple White House Conferences on Aging. On the NAC website at https://www.caregiving.org/ you can learn about its research, innovations in caregiving, and related news topics. There is also a hub featuring real-world stories of caregivers. And you can sign up for a weekly emailed newsletter reporting on the latest news, events, and resources related to caregiving.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel