Some Coloradans May Be Zble to “Work Off” Property Taxes

Colorado is among a small number of states that have established programs by which certain residents can work off a portion of their property taxes. The programs permit various local taxing districts such as cities, counties, and school districts to allow for older adults (60 years and up) or first responders with a disability to perform work for the taxing entity that will offset part of their assessed property taxes. To qualify, the property subject to the taxes must be the home of the taxpayer and not be an income-producing property. A special formula is used to calculate how many hours of work can be used to offset taxes, and the taxing entity can set a maximum number of participants. The taxing entity issues a check or checks to the taxpayer for work performed, made payable to the appropriate county treasurer, with the taxpayer responsible for delivering such checks to the treasurer in order for the amount to be credited to the property tax that is due. To learn whether any taxing entities in your area are participating, check with your local county treasurer. Find contacts for Colorado’s treasurers at https://cctpta.org/member-roster/.

Did you find our information helpful? 

We are always adding new information and resources and are open to suggestions for improvement. We can do even more with your contributions.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel