A Safe Place in Pagosa Springs

Pagosa Springs,



The Mission of Aspen House/Aspen Services is to cultivate an environment of success for adults with developmental disabilities and their community.

Who is Aspen House & Aspen Services?

Aspen House/Aspen Services operates under A Safe Place In Pagosa Springs, Inc, a recognized nonprofit 501(c)(3). Patricia Brown and Carolyn Paschal created this nonprofit in 2015 to provide a safe home that would support their adult children with developmental disabilities. They expanded their vision to include additional families facing the same circumstances in the Pagosa Springs area.

Once adults with developmental disabilities reach the age of maturity, they age out of various state support programs and are now stuck. Parents can wait up to 10 years or longer to clear the waiting list at other state or nationwide facilities. Pagosa Springs does not have any group homes or residential facilities currently.

The Purpose of A Safe Place in Pagosa

The purpose of A Safe Place in Pagosa (DBA, Aspen House & Aspen Services) is to provide room and 24/7 support services for adults with mild to moderate developmental disabilities. A qualified support team will assess each resident and create an Individualized Program Plan (IPP) for each resident based on their specific needs and desires. Round-the-clock care will be provided for the safety of the residents. The program also includes wrap-around resources such as recreation, therapy, community engagement and vocational support services. In addition, all services and programs will be available to non-resident community members that qualify. Once the initial home is built, we will build additional homes to serve people with other needs.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel