Adams County Health Department/ Diabetes Education and Prevention Program



Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support (DSMES): For clients diagnosed with diabetes, proper management is key to staying healthy. Our Diabetes Self-Empowerment classes provide 8 hours of support for growing skills to keep blood sugars in target range and promote long-term health. For in person classes, we like to schedule 4. 2-hour classes. These are facilitated by a Registered Dietician.

Diabetes Self-Empowerment Program | Health Department (adamscountyhealthdepartment.org)

National Diabetes Prevention Program (NDPP): Journey to Wellness is a grant funded year-long lifestyle change program that will give the tools to become a healthier you.  Designed for folks who live with pre-diabetes, have previously been diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes, or who score a 5 or higher the risk test for Prediabetes. 26 one-hour classes to change your life. These classes are facilitated by Lifestyle Coaches.

Diabetes Prevention Program | Health Department (adamscountyhealthdepartment.org)

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel