Alamosa County Department of Human Services

8900-C Independence Way


CO 81101



Options for Long-term Care

Case managers asses the elderly, blind and disabled in both Alamosa and Saguache Counties to determine functional abilities. Medicaid eligibility is a requirement. Services are accessed to allow those clients to stay in their own home as opposed to a nursing home placement.

Case Management

Persons that are elderly and/or disabled are assessed for alternatives to Nursing Home Care, whereby services will be given in the home. Services may include homemaking, personal care, home modifications, electronic monitoring, adult day services, non-medical transportation, alternative care facility, respite care and consumer directed attendant support.

Programs Available

SLV Home Health

When you need Home Health Care, you need high-quality, compassionate care, quickly.

Our Services 

  • Skilled Nursing: Including but not limited to skilled assessment, patient education, wound care, medication management, diabetic instruction and care, Phlebotomy, IV therapy, PICC Line care, and co-morbidity management!
  • Physical Therapy: Including general strengthening, gait training, motion exercises, home exercise program development, Post CVA/MI Rehab, Range of Motion exercise, Wound Assessment and Treatment.
  • Certified Nursing Aides: Skilled Bathing and personal care services, simple therapy exercises under the instruction of an RN or PT, patient monitoring, and skilled transfer.

Veterans Services

We assist veterans and their dependents with filing for all VA benefits to include but are not limited to:

  • Service Connected Disability Compensation
  • Non-Service Connected Pension
  • VA Healthcare Enrollment
  • Burial &, Survivor Benefits
  • Education Benefits

The Veterans Service Officer can be reached at: vso@alamosacounty.org

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel