Baca County Department of Human Services



CO 81073



Senior Services

Food, Cash, Medical, and Child Care

Let’s start where you are. Whether you need financial assistance to get back on your feet, help with grocery bills, or support finding health insurance, we’re here to help you stay safe and well and get where you want to be.

You can apply for food, cash, medical, and Child Care assistance at the same time online through Colorado PEAK. You can also apply in person at 772 Colorado Street Ste 1, Springfield CO 81073 or outreach locations. Call 719-523-4131 with any questions or to have an application mailed to you.

AAA Chores Services Program

Through a grant provided by the Lower Arkansas Valley Area Agency on Aging (LAVAAA), Baca County Public Health Agency can provide a AAA Chore Services Program to eligible 60+ Baca County community members. Call 719-523-6621 if you are interested in receiving more information or would like to schedule an appointment to fill-out an assessment application.

The Senior Bus

Elderly and disabled residents of Baca County can safely complete banking, attend doctor appointments and needed shopping once a week. To schedule a pickup call: Commissioner’s Office Phone: 719-523-6532

Baca Area Transit:
Phone: 719-353-1237
Services: Provide transportation to the elderly or disabled


Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel