CAPABLE – Community Aging in Place – Advancing Better Living for Elders

6750 W 52nd Ave.




An Interdisciplinary approach to aging in place

An Interdisciplinary approach to aging in place

We’re the first community-based home health organization to implement CAPABLE in the state of Colorado.  This  innovative aging in place program is evidence based, client directed, to increase independence, function and safety in the home.

The CAPABLE program provides 10 visits to the home: six with an occupational therapist and four with a registered nurse to work on goals that the client has selected.  Small home modifications and home repairs are coordinated with a handyperson that support the individual’s goals and safety concerns.  The goal is to empower the individual to be able to problem solve and strategize solutions to barriers in the future after this four month program is completed.

Serving the following Counties:

  • Douglas (6)
  • Jefferson (7)
  • Larimer (8)
  • Adams (1)
  • Arapahoe (2)
  • Boulder (3)
  • Broomfield (4)
  • Denver (5)
  • El Paso

Who is CAPABLE for?

*Age 60 or older

*Self identify difficulty performing at least

    1 ADL (dressing, bathing, toileting, grooming and hygiene,

 or 2 IADLs (housework, meal preparation, medication management, mood, financial management)

*Have ability to problem solve

*Not actively receiving chemo/radiation

*Not under hospice care

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel