Colorado Commission on Aging



The Colorado Commission on Aging (CCOA) was established under the authority of the Older Coloradans Act Section 26-11-101, C.R.S. to serve as the primary advisory body on all matters affecting older persons. The CCOA is a Governor-appointed, citizen-led, multidisciplinary Commission, comprised of representatives from both the public and private sectors to coordinate and contribute to guiding state programs, services, projects, policies, procedures, and resources in the area of aging and coordinate and guide the implementation of the strategic action plan on aging (Master Plan on Aging).

The make-up of the CCOA comprises of 19 Commissioners:

  • 2 legislators (one from the House of Representatives, and one from the Senate),
  • 8 Congressional Districts: at least one member who is 60+, or a person living with a disability, or who has a family member with a disability; rural/frontier; local government; business community, 
  • 9 remaining categories: higher ed; director of an Area Agency on Aging; knowledge of workforce issues impacting older Coloradans; represents a long-term residential care setting; represents an organization providing HCBS; extensive knowledge of or experience with transportation infrastructure and services; represents housing sector; and public policy or elder law community with knowledge of an experience with aging policy or elder rights issues.

Statute also requires that members represent diverse racial, cultural, socioeconomic, gender, and ability groups, and individuals receiving community based social or medical services that support independent living and there be no more than a minimum majority affiliated with the same political party. 

The CCOA meets monthly every 3rd Thursday of the month virtually until further notice. Please see the FY 23-24 dates and times here

Sign up to be on a Commission subcommittee or to be added to the email list. 

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel