Colorado State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program

455 Sherman Street, Suite 130


CO 80203



The Colorado State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program advocates for residents of skilled nursing homes, and licensed assisted living residences. The authority of the long-term care ombudsman program comes from Title VII, Chapter 2, of the Older Americans Act, as well as Title 26, Article 11.5, of the Older Coloradans Act. The primary purpose of the Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program is to promote and protect the residents’ rights guaranteed these residents under federal and state law.
We achieve this mission with a network of local offices across the state, which recruit, train, and manage teams of certified ombudsmen. Staff and volunteer ombudsmen visit long-term care facilities throughout the state to ensure residents’ rights are being upheld.

Certified Long-Term Care Ombudsmen are trained to receive complaints and resolve problems in situations involving quality of care, use of restraints, transfer and discharge, abuse, and other aspects of resident dignity and rights. Ombudsman services are free, confidential, and resident directed.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel