Connect for Health Colorado



Colorado’s Own Health Insurance Marketplace

Our Mission

Our mission is to increase access, affordability, and choice for individuals and small employers purchasing health insurance in Colorado

In 2010, the Affordable Care Act (ACA) was created to help expand healthcare coverage and decrease healthcare costs for Americans. When the ACA passed, we had already been studying and building a health insurance marketplace for Colorado residents with that same mission for four years as the Blue Ribbon Commission for Healthcare Reform.

Then, in 2011, Connect for Health Colorado was established by the Colorado General Assembly as a public, non-profit entity to create a health insurance marketplace. It opened for business on Oct. 1, 2013, for individuals, families and small employers across Colorado to purchase health insurance and get financial help to reduce costs.

Connect for Health Colorado is governed by a Board of Directors with additional direction from a committee of state legislators (the “Oversight Committee”).

Our Value to Customers

As the official health insurance marketplace for Coloradans, we provide:

Financial Help Icon The only place where residents can apply for Premium Tax Credits and Cost-Sharing Reductions to lower the cost of private health insurance.

Explore Plans icon Tools that allow customers to easily compare plans and prices from multiple insurance companies and search for preferred providers and medications.

QHP Icon Qualified health plans which include essential benefits and protections (in accordance with the Affordable Care Act).

Broker Icon  A statewide customer support network of Customer Service Center Representatives, Assisters and licensed Brokers to help Coloradans find the best health plan for their needs and budget.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel