East Central Council of Governments Area Agency on Aging

128 Colorado Ave


CO 80836



Mission:  To ensure that support and nutrition services are available and accessible to the older population of Cheyenne, Elbert, Lincoln & Kit Carson counties, particularly those with the greatest social or economic needs.  We shall achieve this mission by providing services directly or through contractual arrangements with other agencies to assist elders in maintaining their independence, health, and quality of life, in their own homes for as long as possible.

Through federal Older Americans Act grant funds, allocated to the Region via the East Central Council of Local Governments (ECCOG), the area agency utilizes these funds in conjunction with state, county, and local funds to plan for, monitor and fund an array of home and community based services and programs.

In addition to the provision of services, a wide range of responsibilities are carried out by the Area Agency on Aging, such as:

• Advocacy • Technical Assistance
• Contracting • Program Development
• Coordination • Reporting
• Education • Training
• Evaluation • Monitoring
• Needs Assessment • Planning

Today, about 8,296 individuals age 60 and over reside within the boundaries (approximately 8,400 square miles) of Region 5 on the central plains of Colorado.  This population is growing faster than any other age group.

Financial Information

The Area Agency on Aging utilizes a variety of funding sources to provide the most effective and efficient service delivery system possible.  These funding sources include:

  • Older Americans Act Title III through State Unit on Aging
  • ECCOG (East Central Council of Local Governments)
  • Local Governments (Town and County)
  • Client Donations
  • State Funding for Senior Services
  • NSIP Cash (Nutrition Services Incentive Program) – formerly USDA
  • AoA (Administration on Aging) National Family Caregiver Support
  • FTA (Federal Transit Administration) funding through CDOT’s Transit Unit

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel