Las Animas County Department of Human Services

200 East 1st Street


CO 81082



Old Age Pension (OAP)

Old Age Pension (OAP) provides financial assistance to residents ages 60 or older with little or no income and may provide medical assistance for eligible applicants. Eligibility and the benefit amount are based upon the individual’s income and resources.

Long-Term Care and Home-Based Services (HCBS)

Home & Community Based Services (HCBS) to low-income individuals needing long term support services.

Adult Protective Services

Report At-Risk Adults

Veterans Services

Veterans and their dependents may be entitled to a range of services, including assistance in the processing of disability claims, pensions, death benefits, educational benefits, medical assistance, and advocacy on behalf of veterans on issues affecting them and their dependents.

Burial Assistance

The Burial Assistance program may provide contributions toward the payment of funeral, cremation, and/or burial expenses for deceased individuals who were receiving public assistance benefits at the time of death.


Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel