Lower Arkansas Valley Area Agency on Aging

13 West 3rd, La Junta

La Juanta,

CO 10508



Area Agency on Aging (AAA)

The Lower Arkansas Valley Area Agency on Aging (AAA) provides services to individuals age 60 and older in Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Otero, and Prowers counties. 

LEGAL SERVICES: The AAA contracts with an attorney to provide legal services such as wills, powers of attorney, and deeds.  Call 383-3166 to make an appointment.

MEALS ON WHEELS: In-home meals are provided to homebound individuals through Sage Services.  Congregate meal sites are also available in some communities.  Contact Sage at 254-7547, or Adult Services at 383-3166 for more information.

VISUALLY IMPAIRED/LOW VISION ASSISTANCE: AAA can provide magnifiers, talking items (watches, scales, etc.), and other items helpful to those whose vision cannot be corrected to a normal level with regular glasses or contacts.  Call 383-3166 for more information.

For Medicare Counseling call 1-800-MEDICARE or visit their website.

AAA Serving the Following Counties

  • Baca
  • Bent
  • Crowley
  • Kiowa
  • Otero
  • Prowers


Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel