National Hispanic Council on Aging



The National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA) is the leading national organization working to improve the lives of Hispanic older adults, their families and caregivers. Headquartered in Washington, DC, NHCOA has been a strong voice dedicated to promoting, educating, and advocating for research, policy, and practice in the areas of economic security, health, and housing for more than 50 years.

NHCOA is known for its ability to reach and serve its community in a linguistically, culturally, and age-appropriate manner; bridging gaps in language, culture, formal education, and age. NHCOA also understands the needs and challenges facing its community and has chosen its programmatic priorities to reflect critical issues facing Hispanic older adults. Its key programmatic priorities are health with a focus on public health issues, economic security, housing, and leadership development and empowerment. We conduct focus groups about public health issues impacting Hispanics/Latinos such as COVID-19, diabetes, and asthma; develop and conduct surveys, reports, and literature reviews; and educate our communities in topics of interests through our cadre of Promotoras de Salud, virtual Coffee hours, webinars, regional conferences, leadership, and caregiving training. We also engage and connect directly with the Hispanic/Latino community about the importance of health research and partner with academia to recruit and retain participants in diverse health research studies.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel