Pueblo County Area Agency on Aging – Food/Nutrition Programs



Everyday Eats and TEFAP may be accessed at the same time. Emergency food assistance may be available through TEFAP, The Emergency Food Assistance Program.

Who is Eligible?

  • Adults 60 years old and older
  • You must have a combined gross income which does not exceed the maximum income for the applicable household size.  View household size and income requirements.
  • Re-certification is required every 6 months to confirm that you wish to continue to receive Everyday Eats benefits and that your financial situation has not changed. Your Everyday Eats site manager will assist you with re-certification.
  • Everyday Eats recipients are automatically eligible to receive emergency food items through The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP).


  • Monthly food boxes containing 22-25 staple food items
  • Nutritious food items may include cheese, milk, rice or pasta, canned fruits and vegetables, canned protein and beans or peanut butter, and cereal.
  • Nutrition education relevant to older adults is included in each month’s box.
  • Recipes incorporating one of the foods found in your box are included each month.

How do I Apply?

To apply text FOOD to 1-877-644-3663  (1-877-644-FOOD)   You will receive a reply containing a link to the intake survey.

Additional Information:

  • If you fail to pick up your box for 3 months in a row you will be removed from the program.
  • You may access TEFAP (The Emergency Food Assistance Program) and Everyday Eats at the same time
  • Everyday Eats food packages do not provide a complete diet but are a good source of the nutrients typically lacking in the diets of older adults
  • Your Everyday Eats box is important and should only be consumed by you
  • It is illegal to participate in Everyday Eats at more than one site
  • If you are unable to pick up your box you may designate a proxy.  Please see your site manager or call 719-583-6199 to designate a proxy.

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), formerly known as food stamps, provides food assistance benefits to help low-income households buy the foods they need for good health.

Who is Eligible?

Eligibility is based on income. The total household income before any deductions must fall below a certain dollar amount to be eligible for SNAP benefits. The dollar amount will be determined by how many people are in your household.

  • U.S. citizens and some non-citizens are eligible for SNAP benefits. Even if some members of the household are not eligible, household members who are eligible may still be able to get SNAP benefits.
  • All individuals who apply for SNAP benefits in Colorado and who do not meet federal exemption criteria must register for work, accept an offer of suitable work and take part in the Employment First program.
  • All household members applying for benefits should have a social security number or provide proof that they have applied for one.


  • Electronic Benefit (EBT) cards are issued to a household for SNAP benefits. EBT cards are accepted at most grocery stores, where they can be used to purchase food..
  • Double Up Food Bucks is offered by some participating markets and food retail stores, doubling the value of some SNAP benefits.

How Do I Apply?

You can apply for benefits in one of the following ways:

  • Online using Colorado PEAK.  Applications will be automatically submitted to the Pueblo County Department of Human Services.
  • Pick up an application at one of our offices,  405 W. 9th Street  OR   320 W. 10th Street  OR  2641 E. 4th Street
  • Request an application be mailed to you by emailing  APInquiries@pueblocounty.us or calling 719-253-7850
  • Print an application and return by mail, fax or in person at the Pueblo County DHS office.

SNAP Fraud Alert!


Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel