San Juan Basin Area Agency on Aging

451 Hot Springs Blvd

Pagosa Spring,

CO 81147



The principle is simple:

Older adults are entitled to spend their retirement years in good health, independence, and dignity.  Furthering our cause to help seniors is the most important goal of our organization. We seek to support, empower, and provide high-quality resources to our community in a safe and secure environment. Our success isn’t measured in terms of wealth or profit margin, but by the value we provide to those we serve.

To put this idea into action, the OAA created a network of Area Agencies on Aging and Native American Aging Programs in communities across the country. The Act established the Administration on Aging (AoA) at the federal level.  AoA awards funds to State Units on Aging, based on the senior population.  The State is divided into Planning and Service Areas (PSA); programs are effectively developed and targeted to meet the unique needs of elders residing in that area.

AAA-Region 9 includes the counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, and San Juan.

Services in each county may include the following:

  • Congregate Meal and Home-Delivered Meals
  • Transportation

  • Home Chores

  • Home Health and Personal Care

    • Client Assessment

    • Care Management

  • Legal Services

    • Elder Abuse Prevention

  • Caregiver Support

  • Health Insurance Counseling​

  • Employment Services

  • Volunteer Opportunities

  • Ombudsman Program, which helps resolve complaints involving long-term care facilities

Services are available to all persons age 60 and older.

The county Senior Centers contract with the AAA for most of these services.  Legal assistance is with attorneys within the five-county area. The local health departments provide caregiver support, home health, and personal care, and the required Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program and Registered Dietitian are independent contracts, funded by the AAA.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel