Sunshine Home Share Colorado

2501 North Gaylord St.


CO 80205



Sunshine’s mission is to promote aging at home through care management and a safe home-sharing model, generating income and providing support for older adults while accessing untapped affordable housing and resources for home seekers. During the COVID crisis we have seen an increase in home provider applications surprising us, that the need for income and the impact of being lonely outweighs the fears of getting sick.

Since starting our work in 2016 Sunshine has made 50 matches, many with home providers over 90 year old. These home providers often do not need assisted care, they just do not want to live alone or have family far away. Using the space in their home helps someone in need of affordable housing, giving them a renewed sense of purpose and much needed income and companionship.

The economic impact of a home sharing match has far reaching financial cost saving outcomes making this a cost effective solution for both health care and affordable housing. The trading of in home services and earning rental income is about $7,440 per year for our home providers. Home seekers are saving on average $10,440 per year in rent when living in a home sharing match.

While the economic impacts are clear, it is truly the relationship built between the home provider and home seeker that is the biggest asset to a home sharing match. We have learned it does not matter how great the space, rent price point or location. When it comes down to it, it is all about the people.

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel