University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine

13065 E 17th Ave, Aurora


CO 80045



Senior Smiles

The CU School of Dental Medicine accepts new patients in our Senior Smiles program, a state-funded program designed to provide dental care for qualifying Colorado residents ages 60 and older. The State of Colorado establishes guidelines for eligibility and participation. Funds are subject to availability.

Who Qualifies?

Patients who are currently participating in the CU Dental Team Care Clinics or those who are accepted through the CU School of Dental Medicine screening process and

  • Age 60+
  • Do not qualify for Medicaid.
  • Do not have private dental insurance
  • Income at or below 250% of the most current federal poverty guidelines based on family size 
  • Colorado Resident

Veterans Assistance Grant Program

The Veterans Assistance Grant (VAG) program is provided for our community of veterans in Colorado through funding provided by the State of Colorado Department of Military and Veterans Affairs.

The Senior & Special Care Clinic provides our patients with affordable, high-quality oral health care.

  • We treat seniors who are 65 years and older who also have other health concerns.
  • We also specialize in treating patients (16 years and older) with cognitive, developmental, medical, and physical conditions that may limit their ability to receive routine dental care.

The Senior & Special Care Clinic (SSCC), located inside the CU School of Dental Medicine on the Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora, Colorado, is under the direction of expert faculty. The clinic and school are educational environments for dental students. Students will learn and gain experience in this clinic under faculty supervision. Here are a few examples of the dental treatments provided in the SSCC:

  • Dentures, denture fittings and denture repairs;
  • Extractions;
  • Fillings;
  • Fluoride treatments;
  • General oral health care, like cleanings; and
  • Oral hygiene instructions

Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel