Colorado has thousands of resources for Aging Wisely. Let us help you find what you need.

Start with our Aging in Place Guide

What is Aging in Place?

Aging in place allows older adults to maintain their independence and live in a home that is familiar. It also lets them stay in communities that they have often been a part of for years. In addition, the cost of staying in one’s home is often (but not always) less costly than living in a senior living community or skilled nursing facility.

While most older adults report wanting to stay in their homes as they age, whether it’s the right fit is largely determined by whether the person, the place, and the social support network are aligned to create a livable environment for the older adult. Aging in place is ideal if the older adult is physically and mentally capable of living on their own, lives in an environment conducive to their needs, as well as, has a strong social support network within their community.

Browse our Common Questions

What is Aging in Place?

The CDC defines aging in place as: the ability to live in one’s own home and community safely, independently, and comfortably, regardless of age, income, or ability level.

When is Aging in Place a good or bad idea?

Aging in place is a particularly good fit for those who like to take-charge and make their own decisions. The ability to communicate one’s needs is an especially important trait for staying in the home because the older adult – and those within their network – will be providing the services that might otherwise be available to them at a senior living facility.

What is an Area Agency on Aging (AAA)?

Area Agencies on Aging (AAA’s) cover every county in Colorado. They provide information on a variety of services to assist older adults and those who care for them.

What is a Reverse Mortgage?

A reverse mortgage loan, like a traditional mortgage, allows homeowners to borrow money using their home as security for the loan. Also like a traditional mortgage, when you take out a reverse mortgage loan, the title to your home remains in your name.

What is Medicare?

Medicare is the federal health insurance program for: People who are 65 or older. Certain younger people with disabilities. People with End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a transplant, sometimes called ESRD).

I Am Concerned About

Eating Well

Safe at Home

Getting Around

Being Healthy

Feeling Connected

Financially Sound

Having Fun

Getting Exercise

Enjoying Hobbies


Sign up for our newsletter

Do you have a resource to offer?