Moffat County Department of Human Services

1198 W Victory Way, Ste 204


CO 81625



Housing Authority

Sunset Meadows 1 was built in 1977 for the senior citizens of Moffat County. In 1983, when Sunset Meadows could no longer accommodate everyone, Sunset Meadows 2 was built across the street. Sunset Meadows 1 & 2 are subsidized and regulated by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The Moffat County Housing Authority Board is responsible for the management of both buildings. Each building houses 44 apartments, each with a living area, one bedroom and a kitchen.


Sunset Meadows has a handicapped-accessible bus equipped with an electric lift for boarding persons in wheelchairs and walkers. Senior transportation is donation based only and is subsidized by the Moffat County Board of Commissioners. In addition to scheduled trips to local stores, the bus transports seniors to individual medical and other appointments upon request within a 5-mile radius of Sunset Meadows.

County Services

The Moffat County Department of Human Services is 1 of 64 Departments of Human Services within the State of Colorado. The DHS provides services to clients and assistance to recipients through the following identified office units:

Assistance Payments Unit:
  • Aid to Blind
  • Aid to needy and/or Disabled
  • Food Assistance Program
  • Fraud Investigations
  • Long Term Care
  • Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LEAP)
  • Medicaid-Adult, Child &, Family
  • Old Age Pension

Veterans Services

  • Filing VA claims and appeals
  • Healthcare enrollment
  • Nursing home care
  • Disability compensation
  • Pension
  • Education and training
  • Vocational rehabilitation and employment
  • Home loan guarantees
  • Life insurance
  • Burial benefits
  • Headstones and markers
  • Survivor benefits
  • Replacement of military records, medals and awards
  • Employment Assistance

Core Services:

  • Abuse/Neglect Investigations
  • Adult Protection
  • Home Based Services
  • Mental Health


Service Areas Details:

  • Boulder County and City of Boulder
  • Central Mountains: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Lake
  • City and County of Denver
  • City of Aurora
  • Colorado Springs Metro area: Counties of El Paso, Park, Teller
  • Denver Metro area: Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Gilpin, Jefferson
  • Eastern Plains: Counties of Cheyenne, Elbert, Kit Carson, Lincoln
  • Larimer County and City of Fort Collins
    Las Animas/ Huerfano: Counties of Huerfano, Las Animas
  • Northeast Colorado: Counties of Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma
  • Northwest: Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Routt
  • Pueblo County and City of Pueblo
  • San Juan Region: Counties of Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, San Juan
  • South Central Colorado: Counties of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
  • Southeast Colorado: Baca, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Prowers, Otero
  • Summit Region: Counties of Eagle, Grand, Jackson, Pitkin, Summit
  • Weld County
  • West Central: Counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel